We see that you have javascript disabled. Please enable javascript and refresh the page to continue reading local news. If you feel you have received this message in error, please contact the customer support team at 1-833-248-7801.



Prep boys hockey: Hermantown's Blake Biondi named 2020 Mr. Hockey

Grand Rapids' Wade Chiodo named John Mariucci Award winner as Class AA coach of the year

030520.S.DNT.state.hockey.Hermantown c02.JPG
Hermantown forward Blake Biondi (27) celebrates his goal in the first period of the Class A quarterfinal against Monticello Wednesday, March 4, 2020, at Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul. (Tyler Schank / tschank@duluthnews.com)
We are part of The Trust Project.

Hermantown's Blake Biondi was given the 2020 Mr. Hockey Award Sunday afternoon.

Biondi, who is committed to Minnesota Duluth, scored 47 goals and added 48 assists for 95 points. In Saturday's Class 1A state tournament championship game, the Hawks scored with less than a minute left in the third period, sending the game into overtime, where they fell to Mahtomedi. Biondi posted 10 goals and nine assists in six postseason games.

Other finalists included:

  • Jake Boltmann, Edina
  • Matthew Gleason, Cretin-Derham Hall
  • Luke Gramer, Moorhead
  • Wyatt Kaiser, Andover
  • Blake Perbix, St. Cloud Cathedral
  • Carsen Richels, Blaine
  • Nate Schweitzer, Benilde-St. Margaret’s
  • Grant Slukynski, Warroad
  • Ben Steeves, Eden Prairie

Hudson Hodges from Moorhead High School received The Frank Brimsek Award, in recognition of Minnesota's top senior goaltender.
Carter Clafton (Grand Rapids) and Remington Keopple (Hill-Murray) were finalists for the Brimsek Award.


The 36th annual Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet was Sunday at the Saint Paul RiverCentre Grand Ballroom.

Jay Hardwick, of Warroad, and Wade Chiodo, of Grand Rapids High School, received The John Mariucci Award, given to the Class A and Class AA high school coaches of the year.

The Mr. Hockey Award is selected by a panel of National Hockey League Scouts, Junior Scouts/Coaches and selected media members from around the state.

Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners are: Bryce Brodzinski (2019), Sam Walker (2018), Casey Mittelstadt (2017), Riley Tufte (2016), Jake Jaremko (2015), Avery Peterson (2014), Grant Besse (2013), Justin Kloos (2012), Kyle Rau (2011), Nick Bjugstad (2010), Nick Leddy (2009), Aaron Ness (2008), Ryan McDonagh (2007), David Fischer (2006), Brian Lee (2005), Tom Gorowsky (2004), Nate Dey (2003), Gino Guyer (2002), Marty Sertich (2001), Paul Martin (2000), Jeff Taffe (1999), John Pohl (1998), Aaron Miskovich (1997), Dave Spehar (1996), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Mike Crowley (1994), Nick Checco (1993), Brian Bonin (1992), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Trent Klatt (1989), Larry Olimb (1988), Kris Miller (1987), George Pelawa (1986) and Tom Chorske (1985).

Previous Frank Brimsek Award winners are: Charlie Glockner (2019), Atticus Kelly (2018), Jake Begley (2017), Nick Althaus (2016), Dyllan Lubbesmeyer (2015), Hunter Shepard (2014), David Zevnik (2013), Michael Bitzer (2012), Alex Lyon (2011), Zane Gothberg (2010), Casey O'Connor (2009), Joe Phillippi (2008), Reid Ellingson (2007), Austin Lee (2006), Alec Richards (2005), Matt Lundin (2004), Jon Anderson (2003), Josh Johnson (2002), Eric Aarnio (2001), Jake Brant (2000), Adam Laaksonen (1999), Adam Coole (1998), Kyle Kolquist (1997), Karl Goehring (1996) and Todd Kelzenberg (1995).

This is a developing story; check back for updates.

What to read next
The 51st annual Head of the Mississippi regatta took place on Oct. 1.
After a four-goal game at the NAHL Showcase, Minnesota's Kevin Marx Noren scored three on Sunday.
Minnesota will go for the sweep of the three-game series on Sunday afternoon.
The game-winner was his fifth goal of the season.