The Fishing Hall of Fame of Minnesota will induct three anglers and two organizations into its 2020 Hall of Fame class:

  • Steve Pennaz, a multispecies angler, TV host, media brand developer, editor and writer.
  • Chip Leer, TV and stage host of "National Walleye Tour," product developer, radio host, promoter and multispecies angler.
  • Tim Lesmeister, full-time freelance outdoor communicator, radio talk show host and fishing promoter.
  • Babe Winkelman Productions.
  • Kluge Manufacturing, known for the Kluge ice auger that hit the market in the early 1960s.

The Hall of Fame annually recognizes up to three individuals and two groups or organizations that have made a major impact on Minnesota’s sportfishing industry. Individuals must be a Minnesota resident living in the state for a minimum of 25 years, be at least 50 years old and must have made meritorious contributions to the sport of fishing.

Businesses and organizations also may be nominated if they are registered in Minnesota and have made similar noteworthy contributions to fishing.

Nominations are accepted from the general public, and the list is reduced to the top 10 by current Hall members, after which finalists are voted on for induction.

The induction ceremony is April 2 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel, coinciding with the Northwest Sportshow at the nearby Minneapolis Convention Center.