Weather Forecast


College hockey: 'Hoagie' among UMD Hall of Fame inductees

Minnesota Duluth coach Scott Sandelin said shortly after he was hired back in 2000 to coach the Bulldogs men’s hockey program, Dale “Hoagie” Haagenson came to see him.

Haagenson, who had been on the UMD staff since the 1981-82 season, wanted to know if Sandelin would keep the club’s volunteer assistant equipment manager and inspirational leader around.

“I told him he’s got a lifetime contract here,” Sandelin said. “He is the program.”

Haagenson is one of four who will be inducted into the UMD Athletic Hall of Fame on Saturday along with women’s hockey career scoring leader Jenny (Schmidgall) Potter, two-time national champion football coach Bob Nielson and All-American golfer Tom Waitrovich.

The induction banquet will take place in downtown Duluth at the Holiday Inn’s Lake Superior Ballroom starting at noon. The Class of 2017 also will be recognized during the first intermission of the Bulldogs’ regular-season finale against Nebraska-Omaha.

“When you think of our program, he is the program. If you talk to all the players, it’s the same thing,” Sandelin said of Haagenson. “His passion, his love for the program, just the energy he brings, I just love the passion he has for the program. His relationship with the guys has been tremendous. The guys year after year take care of him, or he takes care of them.”

Haagenson, a native of Babbit, is the longest serving volunteer in the history of UMD athletics with 2017-18 being his 37th season. In addition to helping out the men’s program, Haagenson volunteers with the UMD women’s program, the football team and baseball team. In the summer, he works with the Duluth Huskies baseball team of the Northwoods League.

Bulldogs coach Maura Crowell said Haagenson has made an impact on her in just the three seasons she’s been at UMD.

“He’s been such a special part of our program,” Crowell said. “Our kids really have flocked to him. He’s a fun person to have around, very positive influence on both teams.”

Crowell is equally excited to see Potter — the four-time Olympian and three-time top-three finalist for the Patty Kazmaier Award — be inducted.

Potter was on the Bulldogs’ inaugural team in 1999-2000 and helped the team win an NCAA title in 2003. In three seasons (1999-20000, 2002-04), Potter scored a program-record 256 points (108 goals, 148 assists). She set single-season records for points (93) and goals (41) in 1999-2000 and assists (57) in 2002-03.

Potter’s induction into the UMD Athletic Hall of Fame opens the door for her to have her number retired alongside the only other number to be retired in UMD women’s hockey history — the No. 27 of Maria Rooth.

“Who better than Jenny Potter — the, arguably, most famous, well-known American hockey player with all her success at the international level, as well as what she did for our program here,” Crowell said of Potter’s induction. “It’s amazing and a really special honor for her.”

 Daoust honored by WCHA

UMD women’s senior defenseman Catherine Daoust was named WCHA Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year on Wednesday as part of the league’s postseason awards.

Daoust, a native of L’Ile Bizard, Quebec, is a mechanical engineering major with a 4.0 grade point average. After graduation this spring, she plans to seek out a masters degree program for aerospace engineering.

A member of the National Engineering Honor Society, Daoust totaled 13 points via three goals and 10 assists — all collegiate highs — in 35 games this season.

Other award winners included Wisconsin sophomore forward Abby Roque (Offensive Player of the Year), Minnesota senior defenseman Sydney Baldwin (Defensive Player of the Year), Wisconsin sophomore goaltender Kristen Campbell (Goaltender of the Year), Ohio State freshman forward Emma Maltais (Rookie of the Year) and Ohio State coach Nadine Muzerall (Coach of the Year).

WCHA unveils new hardware

The WCHA men’s league is retiring the Broadmoor Trophy, the league’s postseason trophy since 1985, and unveiling new hardware this season.

The winner of the WCHA’s postseason tournament — now entirely on campus featuring two rounds of best-of-three series followed by a one-game championship — will receive the Jeff Sauer WCHA Championship Trophy. Sauer, who died in February 2017 at the age of 73, played for Colorado College in the 1960s before serving 31 seasons as head coach of the Tigers (1971-82) and Wisconsin Badgers (1982-2002).

Sauer is the league’s all-time winningest coach (665 victories) and won six WCHA playoff championships between his time in Colorado Springs and Madison. He led the Badgers to NCAA titles in 1983 and 1990.

The WCHA women’s league also will have a new trophy for its postseason champion thanks to a donation from ESPN’s John Buccigross through his #bucciovertimechallenge and #cawlidgehawkey initiative. A two-and-a-half foot tall trophy replaces the bowl/cup that was previously awarded to the winner of the Final Faceoff, which takes place this weekend at Ridder Arena in Minneapolis.

Matt Wellens

College hockey reporter for the Duluth News Tribune covering the Minnesota Duluth Bulldogs men's and women's teams, as well as the NCAA Division III programs at St. Scholastica and Wisconsin-Superior.

(218) 723-5317