Auto racing: Schelitzche reigns supreme at Hornet Nationals in Superior

Watertown, Minnesota driver makes the drive worth it as he wins the 15-lap special.

Justin Schelitzche surged to victory in the Hornets feature at the Badger State Hornet Nationals Friday, June 24, at Gondik Law Speedway in Superior.
We are part of The Trust Project.

SUPERIOR — Justin Schelitzche surged to victory in the Hornets feature at the Badger State Hornet Nationals Friday, June 24, at Gondik Law Speedway in Superior.

Schelitzche, of Watertown, Minnesota, started in the sixth spot of the 15-lap finale but as the lead pack began to separate he made his move. He eventually grabbed the lead and cruised to victory, outpacing the likes of Carter Matthews (Clearbrook, Minn.) and A.J. House (Cloquet). An impressive 29 cars were on hand for the nationals.

Late Models and Super Stocks were given the night off but the Northern Renegades Non-Winged Sprint Cars were added, with Paul Schultz earning the sweep in that event by winning both his feature and heat. Grand Rapids drivers took the top three spots as Ken Hron was second and Zach Olson third.

Jody Bellefeuille of Duluth fought hard and finally got past Dave Cain to win the 25-lap Modified feature, earning the $1,000 special and the sweep in the process.

Superior’s Ryan Savoy (Midwest Modifieds) and Duluth’s Cory Jorgensen (Pure Stocks) also earned sweeps on the night. The Midwest Modified finale included a big pile up and became a battle of attrition as the race had an incredible 11 cars not finish and two drivers were disqualified.


The night also included a special appearance by the Northern Vintage Stockcar Racers club.

Gondik Law Speedway


Friday’s Feature Results

Non-Winged Sprints

1. Paul Schultz, 2. Ken Hron, 3. Zach Olson, 4. Lucas Logue, 5. Erik Bjorklund, 6. John Breitenfeldt, 7. K.C. Hawkinson, 8. Travis Case, 9. Jesse Grife. DNF: Eric Becker. DNS: Jake Barsness.


1. Jody Bellefeuille, 2. Dan Ebert, 3. Dave Cain, 4. Brandon Copp, 5. Shane Sabraski, 6. Kelly Estey, 7. Al Uotinen, 8. Rick Rivord, 9. Eric Lamm, 10. Jeff Wood, 11. Donnie Lofdahl, 12. Shane Howell, 13. Jack Rivord, 14. Alex Van Natta, 15. Tyler Luger, 16. Todd Gehl, 17. Hunter Anderson, 18. Jeffrey Wood, 19. Tanner Williamson, 20. Mike Klippenstein. DNF: Kelly Checkalski. DNS: Michael Procopio.

Midwest Modifieds

1. Ryan Savoy, 2. Skeeter Estey, 3. James Vendela, 4. Wyatt Boyum, 5. David Simpson, 6. Dalton Mains, 7. Jimmy Latvala, 8. Paul Ripley. DNF: McLean Andrews, Evan Checkalski, Jesse Polson, Austin Blom, Zach Benson, Taylor Madrinich, Andrew Inman, Tanner Gehl, Cody Carlson, Anthony Gallian, Brady Uotinen. DQ: Jason VandeKamp. DQ: Cole Boston.

Pure Stocks

1. Cory Jorgensen, 2. Dylan Shelton, 3. Aaron Bernick, 4. Jessie Limberios, 5. Nate Rose, 6. Anthony Woodhull, 7. Trevor Treviranus, 8. Tyler Kachinske. DNF: Tim Carlson, Michael Grover.


1. Justin Schelitzche, 2. Carter Matthews, 3. A.J. House, 4. DeJay Jarecki, 5. Mac Johnston, 6. Kyle House, 7. Justin Barsness, 8. Tyler Schramm, 9. Marcus Ammerman, 10. Alex Aderman, 11. Jesse Turnvall, 12. Kristy Marken, 13. Jamie Ammerman, 14. Paul George, 15. Brandon Hummelmeier, 16. Nathan Rose Jr., 17. Hunter McDougall, 18. Rachel Boston, 19. Noah Rose, 20. Patrick Passeri, 21. Marty Serbus, 22. Derek Dunbar. 23. DNF: Ken Hapy, Brady Albertson, Casey Fitzpatrick.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "staff." Often, the "staff" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What To Read Next
Hull was a five-time 50-goal scorer, led the NHL in goalscoring seven times, twice won the Hart Trophy and was voted a First-Team All-Star on the left wing 10 times.
Peterson’s unassisted goal lifts Springfield to the NAHL home win.
Ice cross racers are competing in three divisions during multiple days of competition at Mont du Lac Resort in Superior as part of the U.S. Ice Cross Association's annual ATSX 250 event.
Thoreson’s third-period goal is the difference as Posch is tough in net for Minnesota.