We see that you have javascript disabled. Please enable javascript and refresh the page to continue reading local news. If you feel you have received this message in error, please contact the customer support team at 1-833-248-7801.



Auto racing: Madden, Clanton exchange wins at XR Superior Showcase

Two-day event featured a track-record purse of more than $200,000.

Chris Madden of Gray Court, South Carolina, won the main event on Day 2 of the XR Superior Showcase Tuesday, Aug. 9, at Gondik Law Speedway in Superior.
We are part of The Trust Project.

SUPERIOR — Chris Madden of Gray Court, South Carolina, held off Shane Clanton and Brandon Overton to win the main event on Day 2 of the XR Superior Showcase Tuesday, Aug. 9, at Gondik Law Speedway.

Madden started Tuesday’s 40-lap XR Dirt Super Late Model feature on the outside of the front row but took the lead over Overton, the pole-sitter, on the green flag. Overton got the lead back but it was brief as Madden led the next 39 laps for the $20,000 grand prize.

The same three drivers also swept the top spots in Monday’s main event, with Clanton taking top honors and Madden having to settle for second. Clanton, of Zebulon, Georgia, posted a blistering lap of 15.423 seconds in qualifying and also won his heat to earn the sweep. Forty-two Super Late Models were in action Monday and 34 on Tuesday.

The two-day event featured a purse of more than $200,000, easily the largest in the Superior track’s history.

In addition to Madden’s Super Late Model sweep Tuesday, Zach Benson of Princeton, Minnesota, won both the feature and his heat in Midwest Modifieds, as did Ashland’s DeJay Jarecki in Hornets, holding off high school quarterback Carson Gotelaere of Superior. Midwest Modifieds featured a strong field of 34 cars and four heats.


Tuesday’s other feature winner was Dylan Shelton in Pure Stocks for his second feature win of the season at the track.

Monday’s highlights included a good local final in Modifieds, with Brule’s Brandon Copp holding off Duluth’s Jody Bellefeuille and Hermantown’s Darrell Nelson. Those three drivers started fifth, sixth and third, respectively, but are among the best in Wissota.

Super Stocks also had a strong feature race with Dexton Koch of Becker, Minnesota, overcoming a couple of cautions to take the $1,000 top prize. Kyle Copp, pole-sitter Scott Lawrence, the hard-charging Shane Sabraski up from the eighth starting spot, and Terran Spacek rounded out the top five.

XR Superior Showcase
At Gondik Law Speedway, Superior
Tuesday’s Feature Results
XR Dirt Super Late Models

1. Chris Madden, 2. Shane Clanton, 3. Brandon Overton, 4. Jonathan Davenport, 5. Kyle Strickler, 6. Ricky Weiss, 7. Ryan Gustin, 8. Joseph Joiner, 9. Mike Marlar, 10. Shannon Babb, 11. Bobby Pierce, 12. Brent Larson, 13. Jimmy Mars, 14. Garrett Smith, 15. Max Blair, 16. Sam Mars, 17. Don Shaw, 18. Pat Doar, 19. Jesse Glenz. DNF: Jason Feger, Brenden Smith, Jody Bellefeuille, Shane Edginton, Ashton Winger.

Midwest Modifieds

1. Zach Benson, Andrew Inman, 3. Brady Uotinen, 4. Brennan Gave, 5. Cole Chernosky, 6. James Vendela, 7. Brady Larson, 8. Mike Schnider, 9. Cody Carlson, 10. Ashton Schulte, 11. Kevin Burdick, 12. Kennedy Swan, 13. McLean Andrews, 14. Corey Mehrwerth, 15. Wyatt Boyum, 16. Scott Thompson, 17. Jesse Polson, 18. Justin Bassa, 19. William Moelter, 20. Paul Ripley. DNF: Jimmy Latvala, Evan Checkalski, Tanner Gehl, Kyle Kirberger.

Pure Stocks


1. Dylan Shelton, 2. Aaron Bernick, 3. Tom Treviranus, 4. Tyler Kachinske, 5. Cory Jorgensen, 6. James Rahn, 7. Rob Christman, 8. Nate Rose, 9. Guy Gaskill, 10. Anthony Woodhull, 11. Jessie Limberios. DNS: Joe Pajtash.


1. DeJay Jarecki, 2. Carson Gotelaere, 3. Justin Barsness, 4. Tyler Schramm, 5. Kristy Marken, 6. Joshua Kough, 7. Brandon Anderson, 8. Keegan Kough, 9. Patrick Passeri, 10. Ken Hapy, 11. Noah Rose. DNF: Ellen Lange. DQ: Mac Johnston.

Monday’s Feature Results
XR Dirt Super Late Models

1. Shane Clanton, 2. Brandon Overton, 3. Chris Madden, 4. Ricky Weiss, 5. Joseph Joiner, 6. Jonathan Davenport, 7. Bobby Pierce, 8. Jason Feger, 9. Ashton Winger, 10. Shannon Babb, 11. Cade Dillard, 12. Brent Larson, 13. Mike Marlar, 14. Jesse Glenz, 15. Max Blair, 16. Garrett Smith, 17. Kyle Strickler, 18. Pat Doar, 19. Don Shaw, 20. Chad Mahder. DNF: Boom Briggs, Brenden Smith, Travis Budisalovich, Darrell Nelson.


1. 22-Brandon Copp, 2. Jody Bellefeuille, 3. Darrell Nelson, 4. Billy Kendall III, 5. Daniel Bargender, 6. Kelly Estey, 7. Rick Rivord, 8. John Toppozini, 9. Donnie Lofdahl, 10. Dan Kingsley, 11. Mark Kangas, 12. Al Uotinen, 13. Parker Anderson, 14. Kelly Checkalski, 15. Tyler Luger, 16. Jeffrey Lien Jr. DNF: Tyler Kaeter, Jeffrey Wood, Todd Gehl, Mike Klippenstein, Shane Sabraski. DQ: Cole Spacek.

Super Stocks


1. Dexton Koch, 2. Kyle Copp, 3. Scott Lawrence, 4. Shane Sabraski, 5. Terran Spacek, 6. Darin Meierotto, 7. Dan Nissalke, 8. Willie Johnsen Jr., 9. Jase Lien, 10. Jim Campbell, 11. D.J. Keeler, 12. Jack Koranda, 13. Matt Deragon, 14. Kyle Matuska, 15. Brandon Clemens, 16. Mike Sirois, 17. Fritz Myers, 18. Josh Saunders, 19. Taylor Madrinich, 20. Thomas Karaba, 21. Rita Anderson, 22. Dan Peterson. DNF: Andrew Mackey, Chris Johnson, Dan Severson.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "staff." Often, the "staff" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What to read next
The 51st annual Head of the Mississippi regatta took place on Oct. 1.
After a four-goal game at the NAHL Showcase, Minnesota's Kevin Marx Noren scored three on Sunday.
Minnesota will go for the sweep of the three-game series on Sunday afternoon.
The game-winner was his fifth goal of the season.