Auto racing: Doar takes checkered flag in Superior

Veteran driver from New Richmond, Wisconsin, makes late pass for the win

Checkered flag stock art.jpg
Getty Images

Veteran driver Pat Doar of New Richmond, Wisconsin, made a last pass of John Kaanta and went on to win the Late Model feature on Friday night at Gondik Law Speedway in Superior.

Doar started the 25-lap finale in the eighth spot before climbing his way up. Doar, who had been working the low side, sailed past Kaanta up top on the fourth turn and only led the last couple laps for the win while Darrell Nelson of Hermantown also got past Kaanta for second. Nelson started in the 13th spot.

Dan Ebert of Lake Shore, Minnesota, stayed hot by sweeping the Modified action in front of a good crowd on hand to watch 116 cars compete a full race program with six classes.

Shane Sabraski (Super Stocks), Shane Howell (Midwest Modifieds), Jared Akervik (Pure Stocks) and Nate Servaty (Hornets) were Friday’s other feature winners. The Midwest Modified feature included five cautions and seven drivers not finishing the race.

Friday’s Feature Results Late Models

1. Pat Doar, 2. Darrell Nelson, 3. John Kaanta, 4. Deven VanHouse, 5. Jeffrey Massingill, 6. Don Shaw, 7. Travis Budisalovich, 8. Mike Prochnow, 9. Dave Mass, 10. Terry Lillo, 11. Aaron Lillo, 12. Derek Vesel, 13. Jay Kintner, 14. Jeffrey Lien Jr., 15. Chris Lillo, 16. Steve Hucovski. DNF: Steve Laursen, Joe Kienzle, Tim McMann.



1. Dan Ebert, 2. Shane Sabraski, 3. Jeremy Nelson, 4. Darrell Nelson, 5. Johnny Broking, 6. Jody Bellefeuille, 7. Jeremy Nelson, 8. J.T. Johnson, 9. Danny Vang, 10. Al Uotinen, 11. Greg Chesley, 12. Kelly Estey, 13. Brandon Copp, 14. Bob Broking, 15. Shane Howell, 16. Deven VanHouse, 17. Brandon Dolman, 18. Donnie Lofdahl, 19. Taton Hansen, 20. Devin Fouquette. DNF: Clayton Wagamon, Dan Kingsley, Jeremiah Passow, Tyler Luger.

Super Stocks

1. Shane Sabraski, 2. Kevin Burdick, 3. Dave Mass, 4. Dave Flynn, 5. Chad Fouquette, 6. ,Matt Deragon, 7. Kyle Copp, 8. Andrew Mackey, 9. Andy Grymala, 10. Doug Koski, 11. D.J. Keeler, 12. Patrick Beeksma, 13. Josh Zimpel, 14. Jared Zimpel, 15. Scott Lawrence, 16. Brian Carl, 17. Ronnie Malecki, 18. Dalton Carlson. DNF: Kevin Salin.

Midwest Modifieds

1. Shane Howell, 2. Tyler Kintner, 3. Jack Rivord, 4. Cody Carlson, 5. Jimmy Latvala, 6. Wyatt Boyum, 7. Mark Kangas, 8. McLean Andrews, 9. Dylan Miller, 10. Austin Chyba, 11. Dan Wheeler, 12. Cole Boston, 13. Justin Bassa, 14. Mike Boston, 15. Jessy Krause, 16. Travis Krumrei. DNF: Ryan Savoy, Brody Krenz, Joey Krause, Jesse Polson, Brandon Dolman, Zach Benson, Andy LaBarge. DNS: Jeremy Nelson.

Pure Stocks

1. Jared Akervik, 2. Trevor Treviranus, 3. James Vendela, 4. Aaron Bernick, 5. Tanner Gehl, 6. Austin Carlson, Tyler Kachinske, 8. Jennie Krause. DNF: Cory Jorgensen, Eric Lillo, Casey Hartshorn.


1. Nate Servaty, 2. DeJay Jarecki, 3. Jase Wiarda, 4. A.J. House, 5. Hunter McDougall, 6. Michael Egan, 7. Kaleb Ruikka, 8. Brennan Schmidt, 9. Kristy Marken, 10. Harry Ruikka, 11. Reid Johnson, 12. Nate Rose, 13. Rick Andrews Jr., 14. Andrew Parendo, 15. Brockton Grams, 16. Lucas Lillo, 17. Rachel Boston, 18. Joshua Johnson Jr. DNF: Tyler Schramm. DNS: Brady Albertson.

What To Read Next
Get Local