Host Esko continued its tradition of strong relays as the Eskomos produced two firsts and two seconds on Thursday to take the Section 7A South Subsection track and field boys team title with 128.5 points, well ahead of runner-up Barnum's 84 points.

The meet was delayed a day due to Wednesday's inclement weather.

Cook County senior Jack Haussner was one of the outstanding performers of the meet, winning the 200 in 23.71 seconds, the 110 hurdles in 15.48 seconds - more than a second ahead of the runner-up - and the long jump with a leap of 20 feet, 11 inches.

Proctor earned a first and two seconds in the relays to win the girls team title with 87 points, six ahead of Two Harbors, which ran to two firsts and a second in the relays.

Barnum junior Alexis Bonneville swept the throwing events, including a school-record 127-3 in the discus. That broke Tanya Fleichauer's mark of 126-4 set in 1989. Bonneville's winning mark in the shot put, 35-3, isn't far off Jenna Sunnaberg's school-record 36-6.25 set in 2006.

Among other outstanding performers, Cromwell-Wright junior Shaily Hakamaki won the long and triple jumps and Silver Bay senior Alexxa DeQuevedo swept the hurdles.

The top seven individuals and top four relays advance to the Section 7A championships Thursday at Minnesota Duluth, with field events starting at 10 a.m. and running events at 10:30 a.m.

• Gavin Skelton and Ava Hill helped Mesabi East sweep the North Subsection team titles at Cheever Field in Hibbing.

Skelton, just a sophomore, swept the hurdles, won the discus and anchored the Giants' winning 1,600 relay as Mesabi East edged Ely by three points in the boys team standings.

Hill, a junior who is the two-time defending Class A champion in the 800, won that race in dominating fashion while anchoring the Giants' winning 800 and 1,600 relays. Mesabi East finished with 118 points, with Eveleth-Gilbert second with 95.


East doubles reaches state

The Duluth East doubles tandem of juniors Nolan Humphreys and Michael Sutherland won the Section 7AA title at Princeton High School, controlling Joseph O'Connell and Isaac Hultberg 7-5, 6-1 in the final, to advance to the Class AA meet next month.

O'Connell and Hultberg deprived East's David Holliday and Dane Patten from qualifying with a 3-6, 6-1, 6-3 semifinal win.

Top-seeded East senior E.J. Hietala lost his singles semifinal match and did not advance to state.


Cloquet 3, Hibbing 2

Lucy Sinkkonen tossed a four-hitter and struck out eight, while Josie Steen drove in the game-winning run as the top-seeded Lumberjacks won the Section 7AAA first-round game at home. They now face No. 4 North Branch - a 10-0 winner over Duluth Denfeld - on Saturday in a rematch of last season's section finals, won by the Vikings.

Hermantown 6, Grand Rapids 2

Peyton Fath and Bryton Kukowski each drove in two runs in the Hawks' 7AAA opening-round win in Cloquet.

Esko 7, Mora 2

Zoie Johnson completed a busy day that began with her advancing to the Section 7A track and field meet in the shot put and discus and ended with her driving in two runs to beat the Mustangs in the Section 7AA winner's bracket at Braun Park in Cloquet.

Johnson earlier came on in relief to pitch three hitless innings and earn the win in a 7-5 victory over Duluth Marshall.

Proctor 3, Eveleth-Gilbert 1

Maddy Walsh earned a three-inning save in a 7-6 win over Rush City before going the distance with a two-hitter against the Golden Bears in the 7AA playoffs.

South Ridge 1, Cherry 0

Malania Madill threw back-to-back shutouts, giving up just three hits to the Tigers in Grand Rapids to earn a spot in the Section 7A winner's bracket final opposite Carlton.

Chippewa Falls 3, Superior 1

Chippewa Falls (18-7) had just four hits, but two of them went for home runs as it defeated Superior 3-1 in a WIAA Division 1 regional championship game at NBC Spartan Sports Complex.

Jayden Hodgson hit a solo home run in the first inning and Mallory Sterling hit a two-run shot in the fifth to provide all of the Cardinals' runs.

Sterling was also the winning pitcher, allowing five hits with 10 strikeouts and two walks.

Mady Stariha took the loss for the Spartans (19-4), finishing with eight strikeouts and three walks.


Duluth Marshall 10, Hermantown 0

Peter Hansen tossed a two-hitter and struck out nine as the Hilltoppers won the first Lake Superior Conference title in school history at Wade Stadium.

• To cap the day, Marshall's Ben Pedersen threw a one-hitter in a 1-0 win over Duluth East at Wade. Pedersen, Tyler Johnson and Charlie Kleinschmidt all singled in the bottom of the seventh before Alex Busick drove in courtesy runner Finn Prell with the lone run with two outs.