Mark your calendar, Primary on Tuesday

Next Tuesday Duluthians have plenty of reasons to vote in the state primary. Every vote will count as several local races will be narrowed down by the primary.

Next Tuesday Duluthians have plenty of reasons to vote in the state primary. Every vote will count as several local races will be narrowed down by the primary.

Candidate re-cap

The County Commissioner race for Districts 1, 2, 5 and 6 have a primary election. For District 1, Kimberly (Kim) McKay and Charlotte VanVactor are running against the incumbent Dennis Fink. Laura Ness and Steve O'Neil are in the running for District 2, against incumbent Joanne Fay. Three people are running against incumbent Peg Sweeney for District 5, including Brian Landstrom, Bernard Pistner and Marcia Stromgren.

Two Democrats will face off on Tuesday to see whose name will appear on November's ballot for Distrct 6A state representative. Small business owner Bill Hansen is running against incumbent David Dill.

Dill described himself in an earlier interview as being a centrist, someone near the middle of the issues, and said he's not part of the left-wing party because that philosophy would not coincide with the needs of his district.


Dill said he would continue to work on jobs, education and putting development issues in the hands of local townships, cities and counties.

Dill is endorsed by several organizations, including the Minnesota Farmers Union, Associated Contract Loggers and Truckers of Minnesota, United Steelworkers of America District 11 and the Duluth First/Chamber of Commerce.

Bill Hansen is the candidate endorsed by the DFL party. He said in an earlier interview he is unsatisfied with Dill's record because he is too close to the Republican Party. Hansen would like to encourage other areas of economic growth, such as art and culture, and said he would find a balance between what he said to be the economic puzzle pieces of the Iron Range.

Hansen is endorced by the DFL Party, AFSCME Local 66, Progressive Action Duluth and Clean Water Action Alliance.

Where to vote

The polls will be open Tuesday from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. To find out where you vote or what district you are in, call the St. Louis County Auditor at 726-2380 or City Clerk at 730-5500.

Polling places are also listed on the Secretary of State Web site at .

New requirements


This year, voters need to provide either their Minnesota drivers license number, ID card number or the last four digits of their Social Security Number in order to vote. The Office of the Secretary of State can issue an ID number if you cannot fulfull the new requirements.

Who can vote?

To vote in the primary election you must be:

  • 18 years of age or older on Election Day
  • a U.S. citizen
  • a Minnesota resident for at least 20 days before the election
  • a resident of your precinct on Election Day
  • not a convicted felon deprived of your civil rights
  • not under "guardianship of the person" without retaining your right to vote
  • not legally incompetent

Minnesota laws allow you to take time of from work with pay to vote during the morning of state elections.

What To Read Next
Get Local