SUBSCRIBE NOW Just 99¢ for your first month



Northland candidates in running for 'Minnesota Teacher of the Year'

Five Northland teachers have been listed among the 77 candidates nominated for 2022 Minnesota Teacher of the Year.

Minnesota Teacher of the Year logo
2022 Minnesota Teacher of the Year
Contributed / Education Minnesota
We are part of The Trust Project.

DULUTH — Five Northland candidates are among 77 nominated for "Minnesota Teacher of the Year."

The program celebrates the tradition of excellence in teaching in Minnesota and eligible candidates include pre-K-12, early childhood family education and adult basic education teachers from public and private schools. The program is organized by Education Minnesota.

An independent panel will read candidates’ portfolios over the next few weeks and narrow the list to a group of semifinalists. In March, the panel will meet again and choose a group of finalists.

The candidates from the Northland:

  • Kayla Host, Aitkin Public Schools
  • Debra Hannu, Duluth Public Schools
  • Brad Hubred, Moose Lake Community School
  • Tyler Blom, Proctor Public Schools
  • Julie Hebb, Willow River Area Schools
What to read next
Brownfield funds make the redevelopment of contaminated sites and structures possible.
The defendant said he lost control in wintry conditions, but troopers suspected drug impairment.
Infusion of new tools and a renewed commitment from One Roof Community Housing has the nonprofit agency soliciting new groups of users.
As reported by St. Louis County District Court.