Zack Filipovich, who was the youngest city councilor in Duluth history when first elected at age 23 in 2013, has decided not to run for a third term, according to a news release sent out late Wednesday.

Filipovich was also the youngest council president in Duluth history when, then 25, he chaired the body in 2016 after the election of former Council President Emily Larson as mayor. He is the longest-serving member of the nine-person council. He was elected to at large seats as the highest vote-getter in 2013 and 2017.

“I am very grateful for the trust that Duluthians have put in me. Duluth’s best days are ahead and I look forward to advocating for our city through other community service,” Filipovich said in the release. “I welcome opportunities for new voices on the council to do this important work because a healthy democracy demands fresh perspectives.”

Filipovich, an accountant and alumnus of Duluth Central High School and the University of Minnesota Duluth, is the secretary of the Duluth Economic Development Authority Board, a board member on the Metropolitan Interstate Council and the chair of the Planning and Economic Development Committee.

Filipovich becomes the second councilor this year to announce that he would not run in the 2021 election after Joel Sipress of the 2nd District said in March he would not seek another term. Sipress has served on the council since 2014. Terese Tomanek, who was appointed to the other at large seat in 2020, indicated she will run for a full term, as will 4th District Councilor and current Council President Renee Van Nett.