Weather Forecast


Candidates begin to file for office


On Tuesday, the first day people could file as candidates for state offices in Minnesota, a number of people officially entered political races.

Jason Metsa, DFL-Virginia, was the first and only candidate to jump into the race to represent the 8th Congressional District Tuesday, with Rep. Rick Nolan, DFL-Crosby, not seeking re-election.

Several candidates filed for Minnesota House seats, including the following:

  • Incumbent District 3A Rep. Rob Ecklund, DFL-International Falls  
  • Incumbent District 3B Rep. Mary Murphy, DFL-Hermantown
  • Pat Medure, DFL-Grand Rapids running for District 5B
  • Incumbent District 7A Rep. Jennifer Schultz, DFL-Duluth
  • Phil Yetzer, DFL-Crosby for District 10B
  • Incumbent District 11A Rep. Mike Sundin, DFL-Esko