Duluth Spirit Mountain task force members appointed

Thirteen residents were selected.

Spirit Mountain file.jpg
Spirit Mountain and its two chalets are visible in this aerial photo. Spirit Mountain will remain closed for operations until the start of the 2020 winter season under the terms of a revised budget approved by the Duluth City Council Tuesday night. (2015 file / News Tribune)

Duluth Mayor Emily Larson announced the 13 residents selected to serve on the previously announced Spirit Mountain Task Force on Monday.

The task force will work in partnership with the city staff, Spirit Mountain staff and consultants to draft recommendations for the mayor, City Council and Spirit Mountain board of directors, according to a news release from the city.

The selected members include Matt Baumgartner, Amy Brooks, Barbara Carr, Michele Dressel, Mark Emmel, Dan Hartman, Hansi Johnson, Noah Kramer, Dale Lewis, Sam Luoma, Chris Rubesch, Aaron Stolp and Scott Youngdahl.

Councilors Arik Forsman and Janet Kennedy will co-chair the task force. Brandy and Jody Ream from Spirit Mountain, Anna Tanski from Visit Duluth, and Tim Miller and Bjorn Reed from AFSCME will serve as ex-officio members.

The members of the task force will assist in drafting a set of recommendations intended to help achieve long-term financial and operational sustainability for Spirit Mountain.


Applications for the task force opened June 24 and closed July 8. In total, 106 applications were submitted from a diverse field of residents, the news release said. Similar to the Mayor’s Affordable Housing Task Force, appointed members do not need to be approved by the City Council to serve.

“This great number of applications just reaffirmed for us the importance of the conversation that needs to be had on this topic and the depth of which the community wants to be involved,” Larson said in the release.

What To Read Next
Get Local