Carlton, Aitkin counties now under burning restrictions

The Minnesota DNR has expanded burning restrictions to more counties to prevent wildfires.

camping campfire fire bonfire
Photo/ Pixabay

Seven more counties, including Aitkin and Carlton, have been added to the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources burning restrictions list in order to prevent wildfires, according to a news release Monday.

These counties join 15 other Minnesota counties, including Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake and St. Louis, already under burning restrictions.

Under these restrictions, campfires are not allowed for dispersed campers at state forests, while backcountry campfires are not allowed at state parks and recreation areas in those counties even if the backcountry campsite has a fire ring. Camping stoves are permitted.

Campfires are allowed in established fire rings outside of DNR-managed lands. Check with the local land manager for additional restrictions.

No new burning permits will be issued for those counties until the drought eases, and no fireworks may be ignited on any public or private land outside city limits.


The restrictions will remain in effect until terminated by the DNR commissioner when the weather and environmental conditions indicate a significant reduction in fire danger.

What To Read Next
The system crashed earlier this month, grounding flights across the U.S.