Age: 36

Occupation: Senior environmental consultant at Barr Engineering

What do you do? I am a senior environmental consultant primarily working with fuels and pipeline clients to help them manage environmental aspects of their projects.

Years in your job: 11

Education: Bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minn., and a master’s degree in water resources science from the University of Minnesota Duluth

Family: Husband, Mickey Pearson; and sons, Finn, 10, Leif, 8, and Odin, 6

Community involvement: I am the rink director for Congdon Park Hockey, which keeps me busy year-round. I also coach youth hockey. My husband and I have a foundation (Mickey and Keely Pearson Foundation) that was set up for us by his grandfather. With this foundation, we have the ability to donate money to nonprofit organizations. We do a lot of work with Hartley Nature Center, Congdon Hockey and Zeitgeist Center for Arts and Community locally. I also try to volunteer in my boys’ classrooms as often as possible and have served on several nonprofit boards over the past 10 years.

Favorite place in the Northland: Tischer Creek, right outside my back door; Hartley trails; Lower Chester hockey rink on a winter evening; or the beach with family and friends.

Native of the area? No. We moved here from the Twin Cities when we started a family. We really wanted to live in a place with easy access to the outdoors. We love the strong sense of community in Duluth and the opportunities it provides for families.

What do you do with your free time? Anything with my family, especially outdoors - bike, ski, swim, camp, hike, skate. I also love watching my boys participate in various sports and activities in our community. In my solo time, I like to workout at Crossfit Aerial and cross-country ski.

How can the Northland retain younger people? Keep focusing on outdoor recreation and local businesses. Local breweries, restaurants, coffee shops, urban green space and world-class bike trails attract people to Duluth, and the outstanding community will keep them here.

Tell us about an influential person in your life: My parents have been very influential in my life. They showed me the importance of spending time together as a family and instilled in me a strong work ethic and kindness. My husband impresses me daily. He stayed at home with our boys for 10 years and is a phenomenal role model for them. He is the happiest, most energetic person I know and I love that our boys have him to look up to. I wouldn’t be able to balance my life without his support.

What is your biggest accomplishment? I'm most proud of raising a family while balancing a career and volunteering in the community.

What are your goals for the next five to 10 years? In the next 5-10 years, I will have teenage boys, so my main goal is to keep enough food in my house to feed them. After they’re fed, I want to give my boys a variety of experiences before they go off to college. I want to continue what Mickey and I have built and show our boys how to be good community members and kind humans.

Where can community members find you on social media? Facebook at facebook.com/keely.pearson and on LinkedIn.

See all the 2016 20 Under 40 Award winners