Weather Forecast


Tuesday is primary election day in Minnesota, Wisconsin

It's primary election day in Minnesota and Wisconsin Tuesday. In general, turnout probably will be spotty with relatively few contests on the primary ballot — but in some counties and districts, there are closely contested races to decide.

The only statewide race in Minnesota will pare three Supreme Court candidates to two, although six U.S. House primary races are on the ballot along with contests for 28 of the 201 legislative seats.

Statewide officials such as governor and attorney general are not up for election in 2016. And neither U.S. senator is on the ballot.

Still, the state's top election official says people should vote.

"As I travel the state, I always tell Minnesotans that your vote is your voice, and to never give that up," Secretary of State Steve Simon said.

There's a statewide race for U.S. Senate in Wisconsin, as well as primaries in the 7th Congressional District race that includes Northwestern Wisconsin.

In Northeastern Minnesota, there are primary elections in two races for St. Louis County Board, in which the field will be reduced to two for November's general election.

In District 3, which covers the western third of Duluth, Jay Fosle, Kim McKay and Beth Olson are seeking to replace incumbent Chris Dahlberg, who is not running for re-election.

In District 7, which covers Hibbing, Chisholm, Floodwood, Meadowlands and the southwestern townships of the county, longtime incumbent Steve Raukar is not running for re-election. Michael Jugovich, Jeff Polcher, Mary Jo Rahja and Melissa Scaia are seeking to advance from the primary.

In state House District 6A, which includes Hibbing, Chisholm, Nashwauk, Bigfork and Floodwood, four Democratic-Farmer-Labor candidates are vying to advance to the general election; incumbent DFL Rep. Carly Melin is not seeking re-election.

Ben DeNucci, Julie Sandstede, Mike Thompson and Tom Whiteside are running as DFL candidates, with the winner advancing to face Republican Robert Farnsworth.

In western Duluth's District 7B, where incumbent Rep. Erik Simonson is vacating his seat to run for state Senate, Liz Olson and Bryan Jensen are vying for the DFL spot on the general election ballot; whoever advances will face Republican Cody Barringer.

Among local races, a field of five candidates for Hermantown City Council will be reduced to four.

Polls in Minnesota are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m., but voters in line at 8 p.m. will be allowed to cast ballots.

In the partisan primary part of the election, each voter may only vote in one party. Voting for candidates in more than one political party voids the party portion of the ballot.

Nonpartisan races, such as for the courts, are on the back of the ballot.

The major nonpartisan contest is for the Supreme Court seat currently held by Justice Natalie Hudson. She faces Craig Foss and Michelle MacDonald.

The U.S. House race attracting the most attention has been in the 2nd Congressional District, in the southern Twin Cities and points south. Republicans Darlene Miller, Jason Lewis, John Howe and Matthew D. Erickson are battling in the primary to take on Democrat Angie Craig in the Nov. 8 election.

U.S. Rep. John Kline, a Republican, is not seeking re-election in the 2nd District.

Other House races have attracted less attention, although Republicans Amanda Lynn Hinson and David Hughes are running in western Minnesota's 7th Congressional District in an attempt to upset veteran Democratic Rep. Collin Peterson.

In the Legislature, the most interesting contest is in House Speaker Kurt Daudt's district, where Alan Duff is mounting a GOP primary challenge.

Also of note is the Minneapolis race involving Rep. Phyllis Kahn, who faces two primary challengers. She has been in the Legislature since 1973.

Minnesotans can visit to find out what is on their ballot and where they vote.


In Douglas County, voters will decide the future leadership for the register of deeds, county treasurer and district attorney's office.

Three candidates are in the running to be the next register of deeds as Gayle Wahner steps down after a decade in the post. Tracy Middleton of Parkland, Jon Winter of Lakeside and Kara Schmidt of Superior are hoping to be the next to lead the office responsible for recording real estate transactions and vital records such as births, deaths and marriages.

Two veterans of the county treasurer's office, Cindy Michalski of Superior and Carol Jones of Poplar, are in the running to lead that office.

Incumbent District Attorney Dan Blank and challenger Mark Fruehauf are vying to be Douglas County's top prosecutor.

In all three races, all the candidates are running as Democrats and the outcome of Tuesday's election will leave the winners without a challenge on the ballot in November.

In the U.S. Senate race in Wisconsin, Democrats decide whether Russ Feingold of Middleton or Scott Harbach of Kenosha face Republican Ron Johnson of Oshkosh and Libertarian Phillip Anderson of Fitchburg in November.

In the 7th District U.S. House race, Republican voters decide whether incumbent Sean Duffy of Wausau or Don Raihala of Superior will be the Republican nominee. Mary Hoeft of Rice Lake and Joel Lewis of Wausau are vying for the Democratic nomination for the seat.

Wisconsin voters will need a valid form of identification to cast their ballot. Visit to make sure you have the right ID.

Polls open at 7 a.m. and remain open until 8 p.m.

If you're not sure where to vote, go to or call your municipal clerk.

The News Tribune, the Superior Telegram and Forum News Service contributed to this report.