Education Notes

Jenice Meyer, director of the Center for Community Engaged Learning at the University of Wisconsin-Superior, received the UW System’s Regents Academic Staff Excellence Award. In her service to the university, Meyer has been involved with developing and overseeing more than 560 partnerships with businesses, non-profits, schools and government. Through partnerships, students were able to apply course learning to achieve goals defined and needed by their partnering organization.

Over the past decade, Meyer has made these opportunities available to students in 26 disciplines across 12 academic departments, resulting in nearly 11,700 hands-on, community-based learning experiences and $4.2 million of donated time to community partners. Students have provided nearly 215,000 hours of service, including helping small businesses with marketing plans, creating websites for nonprofits, and mentoring children in outreach programs.

Due to Meyer’s leadership, UW-Superior actively contributes to Campus Compact, the national organization promoting student civic engagement, and earned the prestigious national Carnegie Community Engagement Classification, one of only 234 universities in the nation to hold such distinction. Meyer serves on numerous off-campus boards and teams, including the Pathways K-12 Initiative, Northwest Wisconsin Educators for Regional Development (NorthWERD), and the city of Superior economic development team. She presents at state, national and international forums.

Duluth Edison Charter Schools announce their Golden Feather Award honorees: Katie Bailey, school nurse, DECS district; Marinda Breitkreutz, special education teacher, North Star; Brittany Godward, fourth grade teacher, North Star; Jamie Halverson, Title 1 teacher, Raleigh; Sheila Kruger, first grade teacher, North Star; Sally Lansing, special education teacher, North Star; Renee Nelson, paraprofessional, Raleigh; Jonathan Pike, math teacher, North Star; Dawn Plath, social worker, North Star; Stacy Sosniecki, first grade teacher, North Star; Jayme Thorson, third grade teacher, North Star.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Greg White
Greg White

The Duluth News Tribune's Florence Award winners for excellence in nursing, and the majority of the award recipients have a connection to The College of St. Scholastica. St. Scholastica School of Nursing Assistant Professor Greg White won the Florence Award, named for trailblazing nurse Florence Nightingale. The Florence Award is given to an individual who shows strong leadership, empathy, innovation, and commitment to mission. He is the Veteran Faculty Lead and Clinical Liaison for St. Scholastica’s Veteran to BS in Nursing Program. He serves as the advisor and clinical instructor for cohorts of Veteran and service-connected nursing students throughout their entire academic progression in the Undergraduate Nursing Program. He’s also working on his doctorate in nursing at St. Scholastica, and coaches the college’s rugby teams. He is a nurse practitioner at CMH Raiter Family Clinic in Cloquet. He’s also a member of the Air National Guard and has experience in multiple roles including pre-hospital, flight and military medicine, emergency and critical care nursing, and nursing education and leadership. White is an inductee and active member of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing, and holds certification in Family Nurse Practice from the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP), of which he is also a member.

The winner of the Empathy Award is Cheryl Frost Anderson, registered nurse and clinical site manager for Regency Home Healthcare. She received her bachelor’s in nursing from St. Scholastica in 1985. The award honors a nurse who has a great ability to understand patients’ thoughts and emotions.

Theresa Flesvig, who earned her bachelor’s in nursing from St. Scholastica in 2006, received the Innovation Award, given to a nurse who has taken steps to improve a process or program for increased efficiency and effectiveness. Flesvig is a Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner at Program for Aid to Victims of Sexual Assault.

Krista Kaas, who earned an MBA from St. Scholastica in 2015, received the Mission Award, given to an individual who has gone above and beyond the scope of their everyday duties. Kaas is a ST-Elevation Myocardial Infarction Specialist and teaches Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction at Essentia.

Learning Notes

The Georgia Institute of Technology, of Atlanta, announced the following: Adam Foris, of Ashland, earned his master's degree in mechanical engineering, Christopher Reynolds, of Two Harbors, earned his master's degree in computer science, and Sean Gallagher, of Duluth, earned his master's degree in computer science.

Catholic United Financial awarded scholarships to Lillian Johnson of Duluth and Nicole McGinn of Duluth. Since 1955, Catholic United has supported more than 5,000 of our members with scholarships to help defray the costs of tuition and expenses of post-high school education. This year, the association awarded more than $150,000.

Sixty-six northern Minnesota high school seniors set to pursue bachelor’s degrees in math or science have just been awarded scholarships from the Marshall H. and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund. Selected from among 153 applicants, recipients will each receive $20,000, distributed over eight semesters, beginning with the 2020-2021 school year.

The 2020-2021 Alworth Scholarship recipients are: Woodrow Rian of Aitkin, Allison Began of Barnum, Eden Sebring of Barnum, Liam Prato of Bigfork, Jonah Giermann of Chisholm, James Stirewalt of Crosby-Ironton, Amelia Ashcroft of Duluth Denfeld, Brandon Jahn of Duluth Denfeld, Emma Natale of Duluth Denfeld, Hailey Coda of Duluth East, Meredith Hill of Duluth East, Brennen Larson of Duluth East, Justine Martin of Duluth East, Justin Schliep of Duluth East, Caleb Franzen of Lakeview Christian Academy in Duluth, Ariana Shimmin of Duluth Marshall School, Apolonia Homer of Ely, Samia Anderson of Esko, Skylar Wohling of Esko, Elizabeth Moe of Eveleth-Gilbert, Lucas Berard of Grand Rapids, Emma Johnson of Grand Rapids, Dylan Owens of Grand Rapids, Eli Conaway of Greenway, Chase Durovec of Hermantown, Noah Hunter of Hermantown, Haley Melin of Hermantown, Dominic Marchetti of Hibbing, Landon Dahl of Duluth home school, Kaytla Rahko of Grand Rapids home school, Gracie Bahr of International Falls, Riley Gilge of Kelliher, Tayler Neft of Kelliher, Danielle Erickson of Littlefork-Big Falls, McKenzie Swenson of Littlefork-Big Falls, Zoe Baker of Mesabi East, Nels Parenteau of Mt. Iron-Buhl, Nicole Olson of North Woods, Maude Lenz of Northeast Range, Cole Hansen of Proctor, Noah Hendrickson of Proctor, Olivia Hendrickson of Proctor, Ellison Rumbley of Proctor, Sterling Boyd of Virginia, Joseph Hafdahl of Virginia, Isabelle Sandnas of Virginia and Ava Warren of Virginia.