• Denfeld Nation Automation FIRST Robotics Team 4009 competed at the Minnesota State High School League State Tournament on May 18. After a successful season, DNA robotics qualified for the state tournament, making it their first time qualifying since 2016. After a fun-filled day of competition, DNA emerged with a second-place finish at the state tournament.

  • Presley Eldien of Duluth, who is studying apparel, merchandising and design, was a director of the Alumni and Committee Relations Committee for The Fashion Show 2019. Eldien earned the Lora and Russ Talbot ISU Fashion Show Merchandising Scholarship at The Fashion Show 2019. Ashley Castleman of Duluth, who is studying apparel, merchandising and design, was a member of the Gallery and Display Committee for The Fashion Show 2019. The Fashion Show at Iowa State University is one of the largest student-produced fashion shows in the country.

  • Malaika Gilboy of Cloquet was inducted into the Scholastic Honor Society during Wheaton (Ill.) College’s Honors Convocation ceremony.

  • Kaylee Grabarkewitz of Grand Rapids participated in the annual Simpson College Research and Creativity Symposium held on April 25 in Indianola, Iowa. This was a multi-disciplinary event that showcased outstanding student work through the presentation of papers, performances, posters and panel discussions. Grabarkewtiz’s parents are Lori and Jeff Grabarkewitz.

  • A group of sixth-grade students from East Central Elementary School in Finlayson visited the state Capitol for a field trip and tour. While there they visited with Senator Jason Rarick (R-Pine City) and Rep. Nathan Nelson (R-Hinckley).

East Central Elementary School visits the Capitol.
East Central Elementary School visits the Capitol.

  • Hannah Sake of Hayward, who is majoring in communication sciences and disorders at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, recently conducted undergraduate research. She presented a project on “Vaping on Campus and in the Community — What Are They Doing and Why?”


  • The University of Wisconsin-Superior’s annual faculty and staff recognition program honored the following:

Nathan LaCoursiere, senior lecture for human behavior, justice and diversity, and Richard Stewart, professor of transportation and logistics management, were presented the Students’ Choice for Outstanding On-Campus Teaching Awards. Based on student nominations, these awards were established to recognize those whose teaching promotes an exceptional learning experience on campus.

The Students’ Choice for Outstanding Teaching in an Online Program Award was given to Scott Smith, senior lecture of communicating arts. Based on student nominations, this award is meant for those providing instruction in programs fully online whose teaching promotes and exceptional learning experience.

Senior lecturer of writing and library science Heather McGrew received the Excellence in Scholarship/Creativity Award. This award is presented to any faculty or academic staff whose scholarly efforts have made a significant contribution to their field of study or area of practice.

Daniel Rust, assistant professor of transportation and logistics management, collected the Rising Star Award. This honor is open to tenure-track faculty members yet to achieve tenure and is based on excellence in teaching, scholarship, and service.

The Max H. Lavine Award went to associate professor of education Mary Lee-Nichols. Given for scholarly contributions to contemporary concerns, this award is presented to a faculty member who has published a paper on a topic relevant to major problem areas in contemporary society.

Gloria Eslinger, professor of visual arts, received the High Impact Practices Excellence Award. This award is open to anyone whose teaching appointment is half time or more and who has displayed excellence in mentoring undergraduate researchers, encouraged excellence in writing development, or fostered global travel or understanding.

The Community Engagement Award was given to Eleni Pinnow, associate professor of psychology. This recognition is open to any employee of the university. Community engagement involves faculty, staff, and/or students and one of more community partners collaborating on projects that have both a positive social impact and support opportunities to conduct research, or teach or encourage student learning. The recipient’s efforts will have made a significant impact on students and in meeting community identified needs.

Outstanding Mentor Awards went to Maria Cuzzo, professor of human behavior, justice and diversity, and Zach Otto-Fisher, women’s basketball head coach. This recognition is for employees who have formally or informally demonstrated excellence as a mentor in encouraging and helping students to be successful.

Heather Rickerl, coordinator of Career Services, was the recipient of the Helping Hand Award. This recognition is open to anyone employed by the university whose work in helping others be successful in their work is exemplary.

The Inclusiveness Award was presented to the women’s soccer head coach Allison DeGroot for actions that consistently and visibly personify the spirit of diversity and inclusivity.

Spirit of Superior Awards were presented to carpenter Ken Rodenwald in facilities management, and interim director of Alumni Relations Heather Thompson. This award is given to individuals or departments who actively demonstrate and model on a daily and consistent basis, the values of UW-Superior and as a result are making a difference in the campus climate and the lives of those who work and study on campus.

Mark and Cathy Casper received the Community Partnership Award. This is open to an agency, organization, or business that has been an outstanding partner with UW-Superior.


  • U.S. Air Force Airman Kevin A. Long graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas. Long, a 2018 graduate of North Woods School in Cook, is the son of Jon and Julie Long of Orr.

Kevin Long
Kevin Long

  • U.S. Air Force Airman Rachel J. Moberg graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lockland, San Antonio, Texas. Moberg, a 2018 graduate of Hibbing High School, is the daughter of Kurtis Moberg and Casey Gargano, both of Hibbing.

Rachel Moberg
Rachel Moberg

  • U.S. Air Force Airman Kendra L. Clark graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas. Clark, a 2014 graduate of Duluth Denfeld, is the daughter of Kiersten Clark of Duluth.

Kendra Clark
Kendra Clark

  • Private First Class Ross P. Veselsky graduated from the United State Marine Corp Recruit Training in San Diego, Calif. Veselsky, a 2018 graduate of Duluth East, is the son of Patty Whelan-Veselsky (Steve Preckel) of Duluth and Bernard (Tammy) Veselsky of Mount Pleasant, Mich. Grandparents are Clarence and Jean Whelan of Duluth.

Ross Veselsky
Ross Veselsky