• Friends of the Duluth Public Library President and Book Sale Chair Marcia Semerau presented a check for $20,000 to Duluth Public Library Manager Carla Powers.

• Harbortown Rotary presented a $2,000 donation to Mano a Mano International to the Bolivia "Dream Fund."

• The NorthShore Inline Marathon, Inc., matched a donation of approximately $1,600 from participants in the 2018 inline skating, running and rollerski races. The money, nearly $3,200, went to the Northern Lights Foundation which provides financial support for families with children facing life-threatening illnesses.

• Viking Coca-Cola Bottling Company/Coca-Cola Beverages of Duluth is directing a portion of its sales of the Powerade and Powerade Zero back to participating high schools under a program called Powerade 4 Schools. High schools participating include Ashland, Ironwood, Proctor, Silver By, Floodwood and South Ridge.


• The Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities recognized Jacqueline Semaan, a nursing faculty member at Lake Superior College, with the award of Excellence in Teaching. Semaan has been on the faculty at LSC for nine years.

• The University of Wisconsin-Superior received a Humanities Connections Planning award from the National Endowment for the Humanities. The proposal from UWS was one of 19 out of 139 applicants to be selected and was developed by Jayson Iwen, associate professor; Lynn Goerdt, associate professor; Jayant Anand, interim dean; Sarah LaChance Adams, associate professor; Khalil (Haji) Dokhanchi, professor; Sakib Mahmud, associate professor; Jenice Meyer, community engagement director; and Laurel Eaton, grants and research specialist. With the nearly $45,000 award, research will begin this summer with the community to assess the development of a new program.


• Willow River Students packed food items in boxes bound for Haiti. The FCCLA/Community Education trip to the Mall of America helps Feed My Starving Children providing food for children in struggling countries. In total, they packed 8,508 meals. Twenty-two students participated.

• Sarah Tobisch of Highbridge, Wis., was initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls.

• Noah Griser of Hinckley was elected as a new member of the Carthage College 2019-20 Student Government. Carthage College is located in Kenosha, Wis.

• Harbor Pointe Credit Union awarded five 2019 Harbor Pointe Credit Union scholarships to Ellie Peddle of Cloquet; Kaitlyn Bergerson of Esko; Noelle Stellmaker of Duluth East; Quinten Rimolde of Denfeld and non-traditional scholarship recipient Eric Brandt. All received $1,500 scholarships.

• This years Trig Star contest, hosted by Chapter 4 of Minnesota Society of Professional Surveyors, was offered to the area high school students. The competition is a timed event in which the students solve trigonometry problems using the law of sines and cosines. They use formulas to solve right triangles, oblique triangles, circles and a typical survey problem. Regional winners include: Mary Johnson of Duluth Denfeld in first place, Keegan Chastey of Denfeld in second place and Phoenix Ocean of Denfeld in third place. School winners include Mary Johnson of Denfeld, Maggie Geidner of Duluth East, Cade Jaros of Hermantown and Ellie Rumbley of Proctor. The winners received money and a plaque. All students received a certificate of participation, a mechanical pencil and a queen-size My Pillow.

• Andrew Bailey, a junior at The College of St. Scholastica, created a leadership training program for middle school students, and local youth are invited to apply. Bailey, a history major and the student body president, is the latest in a long line of St. Scholastica students to be awarded the Phillips Scholarship, which recognizes leadership in community service. The Jay and Rose Phillips Family Foundation awards $16,500 scholarships to outstanding students at Minnesota's private colleges who intend to dedicate a portion of their lives to community service. Seventeen St. Scholastica students have received the highly competitive Phillips Scholarship in the 24-year history of the program. Scholarship recipients design and implement an eight-week community service project during the summer before their senior year.

Bailey has created a leadership training program for rising seventh- and eighth-graders. Applications are now being accepted for the The Duluth Area Leadership Conference, which will take place June 14-15 on the St. Scholastica campus. The program's mission is to promote leadership development among youth scholars by empowering them to become leaders in their schools and communities.

• DyAnna Grondahl, a St. Scholastica senior, was just awarded the 2019 Student Leadership Award. This award goes to a senior who demonstrates an outstanding commitment to the community. Grondahl, a psychology and peace and justice studies double major, received this award after winning a vote among members of the graduating class. As the award winner, she will give the student address during Spring commencement on May 12.