• Volunteers from the community, including Cub Scouts from Pack 21 and the VFW Auxiliary came together at the Duluth VFW to help stuff holiday stockings for children of military families. The group stuffed about 250 stockings with toys and other small items for children that were handed out Dec. 20.


• The Iron Mining Association of Minnesota, the trade association that represents Minnesota's iron mines and the companies that supply goods and services to the iron mines, announced the results of its annual board elections this month at its annual meeting and dinner.

Incoming board members include: Deb DeLuca of the Duluth Seaway Port Authority and Frank Frederickson of Minnesota Power, both of Duluth. Also new to the 2019 board are producer directors from ArcelorMittal Minorca Mine in Virginia, Robb Peterson and Steve Mekkes. They join the following board members: Patrick Bloom, Cleveland-Cliffs; Sandy Karnowski, Cleveland-Cliffs; Ed LaTendresse, Hibbing Taconite; Paul Carlson, Northshore Mining; Chad Asgaard, United Taconite; David Bednarz, Steel Dynamics; Mark Lorenz, Steel Dynamics; Chrissy Bartovich, U.S. Steel; Tim Kalisch, U.S. Steel; Larry Sutherland, U.S. Steel; Jon Anderson, RMS; Marci Knight, American Bank of the North; Jeff Lipovetz, TKDA; Art Lind, Lind Industrial Supply; Brian Maki, Lakehead Constructors; Bruce Mars, Conveyor Belt Services; Matt Thibodeau, Thibodeau, Johnson & Feriancek; and John Ward, Komatsu. Ed LaTendresse of Hibbing Taconite will return as board chair along with President Kelsey Johnson.


• The local James W. Hunt Scholarship Committee is pleased to announce the 2018 scholarship recipients. This scholarship is awarded to Duluth public high school students based upon academic merit, character and other fine qualities. The recipients must attend any University of Minnesota at any location), the University of Michigan - Ann Arbor or Carleton College. Each student will receive up to a total of $18,000 over the course of four years ($4,500 per year if they meet annual criteria). The James W. Hunt Scholarship was founded in 1951.

Winners include: Justin Bock, East; Jenna Bosell, East; Gordon Buffington, East; Jane Dylla, East; Greta Fischer, East; Jubran Jindeel, East; Sonja Long, East; Kayla Nelson, Denfeld; Matthew Pauna, Denfeld; Justine Recana, Denfeld; Sarah Scrignoli, Denfeld; Spencer Stock, East; and Nora Vos, East.

• Megan Schmidt of Duluth, was awarded the Martin Luther Award from Luther College in Decorah, Iowa.