Weather Forecast



Eagle Auxiliary secretary Jan Keene, right, presented a check to Chris Fitch for Superior Rehab in Billings Park.1 / 7
Olson2 / 7
Nummi3 / 7
Erickson4 / 7
(R to L) Eagles Auxiliary President June Arneson presented a check to Jill Hinners and volunteer Rona from the Center Against Sexual & Domestic Abuse (CASDA). 5 / 7
June Arneson, right, of the Eagle Auxiliary, presented a check for $300 to Rev. Barbara Certa-Werner for the Harbor House Crisis Center. 6 / 7
Clyde Jensen, 18, a 2018 Kelliher High School graduate meets the original Alworth Scholarship recipient June Hnedrickson, 90, a 1947 Duluth Denfeld High School graduate and 1949 recipient. Also pictured is Patty Salo Downs, executive director of the Alworth Memorial Fund.7 / 7


• The Eagle Auxiliary made the following donations.

$300 to Rev. Barbara Certa-Werner for the Harbor House Crisis Center.

$225 to Spring Kirkwood who had a fire in her home.

$300 to Jill Hinners for CASDA.

$400 to Chris Fitch for Superior Rehab in Billings Park.

$450 to Captains Kimberly and Josey Elcombe for the Salvation Army.


• Nate Erickson, a freshman at the University of Minnesota, was a finalist in a cryptic creative competition called "The Vault." Three thousand people over the age of 18 and U.S. citizens, competed for solve a series of six locks in cumulative time. Seventy-five of the top finalist earned a trip to the IBM company campus in Cambridge. Nate placed at number 37. Parents are Jim and Christie Erickson of Hermantown. Grandmother is Sandie Ehle of Duluth.

• One of the newest, Clyde Jensen of Kelliher High School, and one of the original recipients of the Marshall H. and Nellie Alworth Scholarship, June Hendrickson, a 1947 Duluth Denfeld High School graduate and 1949 recipient, met to celebrate the program's distribution of more than $50 million to more than 5,000 students since 1949.

• Marshall School student Kaylee Randa was selected to participate in the 30th annual Bjorling Music Festival at Gustavus Adolphus College. The festival includes 282 high school musicians from 65 different schools in Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin. Students were selected from among hundreds of applicants.

• The Superior Rotary Club Junior Rotarians for October are Jennifer Nummi and Katelin Olson.

Nummi, a senior, shares that she is in her third year on the cross country team and has been co-captain. She is also a member of the track team and was co-captain for the 2018 season. She is a member of The National Honor Society and served as a secretary for two years on the PledgeMakers board at Superior High School. Nummis is in her second year as a member of the Douglas County Chamber Youth Leadership Program and in the winter, she is a ski instructor at Spirit Mountain. Nummi plans to attend St. Norbert College in De Pere, Wis., where she will enter their pre-dental program and major in biomedical sciences. She will also be competing as a Green Knight on their cross country and track teams. Her parents are Don and Tina Nummi.

Olson, is the varsity football manager, varsity wrestling manager, a volunteer for the Adam Long Memorial Youth Wrestling Tournament and does senior mentoring. She is also a Lake Superior Elementary summer school volunteer and a member of Our Savior's Lutheran Church. Olson plans to attend WITC and earning an associates degree in nursing. Then she will decide what nursing specialty she would like to pursue. Her parents are Kim and Jamie Olson.