Weather Forecast


Faces for June 3, 2018

Mary Monson and Nikkita Buckanga1 / 7
Mary Monson and Morgan Weber2 / 7
Morgan Monson and Tara Schaak3 / 7
Mary Monson and Sarah Hough4 / 7
Mary Monson and Kaylee Ruznski5 / 7
Mary Monson and Michelle Harrington6 / 7
Duesler7 / 7
  • Nikkita Buckanaga, a student at Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College in Cloquet, was named the 2018 recipient of the Community Memorial Hospital Scholarship. Buckanaga is completing the practical nursing diploma program in May and then plans to work as an LPN while continuing her education to complete the associate degree nursing program and become a registered nurse. She has a special interest in cardiac care and working in a rural healthcare setting.
  • The 2018 Sarah Hough Memorial Scholarships were awarded to five students in the nursing program at Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College. They include Morgan Weber, Madison Pallin, Kaylee Ruzynski, Michelle Harrington and Tara Schaak. They will all be completing the practical nursing diploma program in May and plan to continue their education there to become registered nurses. Weber, of  Esko, has a specific interest in trauma and surgical nursing. Ruzynski, of Cloquet, has a specific interest in geriatrics. Harrington, of Esko, has a specific interest in trauma and emergency room nursing. Schaak, of Cloquet, has a specific interest in geriatrics. The scholarship was established in 2013 as memorial to Hough, who was a graduate of the Practical Nursing program at Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College. Hough passed away unexpectedly in February 2012 from a sudden illness.  
  • University of Minnesota Crookston awarded Jeremy Johnson, of Hibbing the Outstanding Sport and Recreation Management Student Award; Emily Knaeble of Littlefork, the Harvard Global Case Studies Team Award; Alexandra Oakes, of Cloquet, the Outstanding Management Student Award; Samara Roberts, of Duluth, the Outstanding management Student Award; and Katie Warner, of Warba, the Outstanding Animal Science/Equine Science/Pre-vet Student Award.Several Wisconsin-Superior students and alumni were recognized by the Superior Police Department. They include:
  • Taavi Mattson, a 2017 graduate of Wisconsin-Superior, was named one of their new officers. Mattson, a 2014 graduate of Superior High School, is currently working in the Douglas County Jail. A member of the Superior Police Department Auxiliary, he will attend the Criminal Justice — Law Enforcement Academy program at Chippewa Valley Technical College later this month.

    Current Wisconsin-Superior student and Superior Police Department dispatcher Ashley Engelman will receive a meritorious award for her work talking a suicidal teen through a crisis and ultimately preventing the death of the teen.

    Lifesaving Awards were presented to six officers including Wisconsin-Superior alumni Officer Charles Mahlen, Officer Mikayla LeRette and Officer Tyler Rude. Current Wisconsin-Superior student John Fontaine also received a Lifesaving Award and multiple letters of commendation.

    Wisconsin-Superior graduate Officer Griffith Coffman received four letters of commendation for his service.

    Wisconsin-Superior Campus Safety Officer Keith Douglas and Officer Joseph Eickman received letters of commendation for assisting the Superior Police Department with an arrest.

    Coffman, Fontaine and Rude also received Fitness Awards and Wisconsin-Superior student and Duluth resident, Maria Puglisi, performed the national anthem prior to the event.

    • U.S. Air Force Airman 1st Class Alexa A. Duesler graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas. Duesler, a 2016 graduate of Virginia High School, is the daughter of James and Rhonda Duesler of Mountain Iron.
  • randomness