The Minnesota State Capitol in St. Paul became a weekend home for students in Duluth YMCA's Youth in Government program during the 63rd annual Youth in Government Model Assembly in January. Students from across the state spent the four-day weekend working in either the legislative or judicial branch, arguing in mock trial cases and defending their own drafted bills during model court and floor sessions.

In the legislative branch, students proposed new bills based on what they thought needed to be changed in Minnesota. Bill topics included jay-walking, taxing plastic bags and led-water testing in schools, among other topics. These bills were debated, then vetoed or passed by the youth governor and his cabinet.

Duluth delegates were selected for the showcase trials on the last day and a majority came through with victorious cases.

The more than 50 area Model Assembly participants included: Duluth Denfeld High School students Lilian Boman and Lauryn Anderson; Duluth East High School students Elena Stanley, Caroline Morrison, Elisabeth Walker, Morgan Fifield, Lauren Skar, Cabrilla Francis, Flannery White, Amy Pitoscia, Clara Baker, Abbie Amundsen, Kathryn Lannon, Makenna Paquette, Abby Daniel, Chelsea Bassett, Maggie Geidner, Grace Hollander, Aden Barber, Athena Lee, Brook Huusko, Morgan Pirsig, Ellen Roubik, Agatha Pokrzywinski, Emily Hanna, Sannah Arvidson-Hicks, Chloe Benson, Cameron Wiecks, Ellen Patronus, Spencer Frederickson, Carson Henstorf, Isaac Wilkowske, Elle Christian, Sophie Larkin, Anika Lakhan, Grace Helgan, Anna Kuronen, Mckenzie Haithcock, Alaina Cheslak, Emma Ellerman, Bryden Bronikows, Garrett Menze, Dakota St. John, James Abelsen, Ethan Anderson, Marcos Woodward, Owen Dearing and Julia Boyd; and Marshall School students Lily Braafladt, Aleksie Rengel, Ariana Shimmin, Luisa Van Oss, Ben Landherr and Noah Schottenbar.

Next up, the Duluth delegation will participate in the March and April Model United Nations at the Minneapolis Marriott City Center.