Weather Forecast


Fond du Lac primary election results announced

Incumbent Ferdinand Martineau will retain his position as secretary/ treasurer of the Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa after the band’s primary election Tuesday.

He received more than half of the votes. That means — barring any protest — no general election is necessary for that position according to tribal ordinance. There will be a June 10 general election for the remaining seat up for grabs on the Reservation Business Committee.

Martineau received 382 votes, or 53 percent of 715 ballots that were cast. Pete Defoe had 202 votes, or 28 percent. Mary Diver had 14 percent of the vote and Bob Martineau netted 5 percent.

“I was humbled by the voice of the people last night,” Martineau said, adding that the election should put an end to recent debates over allegations of improper activity.

“Over the past several months there have been quite a few accusations leveled against me by some band members. All of the charges were faced by me and ultimately dismissed,” he said. “It is now time for us as a band to come together to forge our future out of the discourse that has been occurring within our band. We need to put aside our personal differences and look to the future for our children and grandchildren.”

David Tiessen and Brenda Shabiash will be on the ballot for Sawyer representative. Tiessen, the incumbent, had 56 votes, or 37 percent of the 150 ballots that were cast. Shabiash had 30 votes, or 20 percent.

Eight people were running in Sawyer. Bruce Savage was the only other candidate to receive a double-digit percentage of the vote. He had 19 percent, or 28 votes. The other candidates were Jodi Ammesmaki, Geraldine Defoe, Blake Evanson, John McMillen and Tina Sadler.

The deadline for contesting the primary election is Tuesday, April 8. Any challenge must be filed with the reservation election judge and executive director of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe. A decision on the contest is due by April 18, or 10 days after the day the notice of contest was filed.

On the day of the June 10 general election, polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.