Weather Forecast


UWS TRiO programs honor top students and tutors for excellence

2013-14 UWS TRiO Award winners include (from left): Aaron Anders, William Lightbody, Kristen Johnson, Debbie Cheslock and Erin Montgomery.
Submitted by Tom Hansen
University of Wisconsin-Superior 

University Relations
Outstanding students and tutors in the University of Wisconsin-Superior student support programs were honored at the University’s annual TRiO Award Day in the Jim Dan Hill Library. Wisconsin State Rep. Nick Milroy, a UWS alumnus, was the guest speaker for the program.
TRiO programs at UWS provide qualified students with the necessary assistance to achieve their educational goals. They include Student Support Services, which provides tutoring and assistance to qualifying students; Upward Bound, which helps Superior High School students prepare for college; and the McNair Scholars program, which prepares first-generation college students and students from under-represented groups for graduate study.

Those receiving awards April 11 included:

Academic Support Center Tutor of the Year: Kristen Johnson was recognized for her efforts working with students. She has the unique ability to help students understand the complexities of the subject in a relaxed and comfortable manner.

Academic Support Center Student of the Year: Sharon Williams was recognized for the numerous hours she has spent in the Academic Support Center and for her dedication to her academic success.

Math Lab Tutor of the Year: Aaron Anders for his assistance in helping students understand and improve their math skills.

Math Lab Student of the Year:  William Lightbody for his outstanding math work while in the math lab.

McNair Scholars Program Scholar of the Year: Debbie Cheslock, a sociology major from Duluth, was chosen because of her work ethic. She came into the program in April and she was caught up with all of her work by May. She is a graduate student at UWS.

McNair Scholars Program Scholar of the Year: Benjamin Roob, a Northland College meteorology student from Port Washington, Wis., was honored because he was always on time with deadlines, came to all of the summer classes, was energetic, and completed every aspect of McNair. He was dedicated to pursuing his education after completing his bachelor’s degree at Northland College. He plans to attend St. Cloud State University in the fall.

Upward Bound Tutor of the Year: Erin Montgomery, a criminal justice major from Superior, was honored for her willingness to take on tasks, for her support of Upward Bound students in their educational goals and personal relationships and for being a mentor to many. She spent five semesters with the Upward Bound program.

Upward Bound Students of the Year: Anna Kirkwood and Madison Adolphson, both from Superior High School, were honored for preparation, decisionmaking skills and for their initiative within the program. They have demonstrated extraordinary drive, commitment to self and community, while juggling many obligations their senior year. Kirkwood plans to attend the University Wisconsin-Eau Claire in the fall and Adolphson plans to attend Hamline University in St. Paul.

UWS Foundation Gulland Scholarship Recipient: Jeremy Rowe, currently a UWS student, was recognized for his commitment to his education and for his openness to better himself by taking advantage of the resources available. He received a $1,000 scholarship from the UWS Foundation and is an Upward Bound alumnus.

TRiO Achiever Award for Outstanding Faculty and Staff: Lon Bagley, program manager and testing coordinator, was honored for his work on several occasions helping and assisting students by going above and beyond expectations to meet the needs of students.