Weather Forecast


Holy Cow! Press announces First Fiction finalists

Six finalists have been chosen for Duluth-based Holy Cow! Press' First Fiction contest that honors writers living in the American Midwest. They are: Stephen Rosen, Cloquet; Donna Trump and Miriam Karmel of Minneapolis; Matthew Fletcher, East Lansing, Mich.; Joseph Rein, River Falls, Wis.; and Eugenie de Rosier, St. Paul.

The author of the winning manuscript will receive $5,000 and publication of the author's first collection of short stories or a novella. Linda LeGarde Grover will select the winning manuscript, which will be announced Jan. 31. The contest is sponsored by the Lindquist & Vennum Foundation.