Weather Forecast


Apple Festival contest winners announced

The 2017 Bayfield Apple Festival Apple Peeling Contest winners were; (from left) Im Henderson, Bayfield Mayor Gordon Ringberg, Bre Thom, Lauri Wilson, Owen Wilson and Brett Lackie. Submitted photo.1 / 2
The 2017 Bayfield Apple Festival Apple Dumpling Gang. Submitted photo.2 / 2

The 56th annual Bayfield Apple Festival was held Oct. 6-8 and festivities included the annual Apple Peeling Contest, the introduction of the 2017 Apple Dumpling Gang and the Grand Parade.

This year's apple peeling champion was Lauri Wilson of River Falls, Wis., with a peel reaching 205.2.5 inches. The second place winner was Brett Lackie of Coon Rapids, Minn., with a peel that measured 163 inches.

In the youth category, Iris Hudgenson of Pike Lake took first place with a peel that was 6.5 inches. The second place winner was Owen Wilson of River Falls, Wis., with a 2.5 inch peel.

Im Henderson of Rice Lake, Wis., won for Best Style, which the judges described as a "consistent cut and evenly flat when laid down." Bre Thom of Minneapolis took Best First Showing, with a peel of 123.75 inches.

The Apple Dumpling Gang was introduced by First Lady of Bayfield, Mary Brigh Ringberg. This year's Gang included: Ethan G., 3, Saxon; Shailene D., 10 months, Bayfield; Loreli L., 4, Brule; Lala L., 2, Brule; Skyler L., 9, Bayfield; Cote P., 8, Ashland; Tanner H., 8, Ashland; Madison H., 5, Duluth; Remington J., 3, Cornucopia; and Willow J., 1, Cornucopia.

The Apple Festival culminated with the Grand Parade, which had 54 units this year, including the Mass Band with 435 students. High schools participating in the Mass Band included Bayfield High School, Washburn High School, William Kelley High School, Mellen High School, Northwestern High School, South Shore High School, Bruce High School, Hurley High School and Rib Lake High School. The parade also included the 2017 Apple Festival Queen Alyssa Hauser, of Hauser's Superior View Farm, Grand Marshals Bill and Claudia Ferraro of Apple Hill Orchard and one of the original Apple Festival founders, Jim Erickson of Erickson's Orchard.

Prizes were awarded to the best floats. The winning orchard floats were Erickson Orchard in first place and Hauser's Superior View Farm in second place. The winning business/non-profit organization floats were Madeline Island Ferry Line/Madeline Island Chamber of Commerce in first place, Apostle Islands Marina in second place and La Pointe Center Art Gallery in third place. The winning visiting royalty floats were Milltown Royalty in first place, Butternut Lions Club Royalty in second place and Hayward Area Chamber of Commerce's Musky Fest Queens in third place. Legendary Waters Resort and Casino float and Bayfield Recreation and Fitness Center Resources were awarded judge's choice. The judges for this year's parade were Adam Clark and Dan Wolfe, of KBJR and Range 11.