Weather Forecast


Radinovich wins DFL primary for 8th Congressional District


Tricia Hobbs, Head of the Lakes United Way1 / 13
Aidan Ripp, Duluth Cross Country Ski Club2 / 13
Louise Anderson, Head of the Lakes United Way3 / 13
Phil Jents, Head of the Lakes United Way4 / 13
Jason Davis, Head of the Lakes United Way5 / 13
Josh LaVack, Northern Expressions Arts Collective6 / 13
Jen Patterson, Head of the Lakes United Way7 / 13
Christopher Tremblay, Head of the Lakes United Way8 / 13
Annie Lepper, Head of the Lakes United Way9 / 13
Deb Eagle, Northern Expressions Arts Collective10 / 13
Makayla Pearson, 2016 Youth of the Year by the Boys & Girls Clubs of the Northland11 / 13
Erik McCort, Northern Expressions Arts Collective12 / 13
Neal Ronquist, Head of the Lakes United Way13 / 13


• Duluth Cross Country Ski club raised more than $36,000 during its annual Snow Ball Gala earlier this month. The funds will support the planning and construction of the Grand Avenue Nordic Center in West Duluth.

• Hermantown Area Chamber of Commerce's Volunteer of the Year awardee Bob Gustafson, media communications manager for Visit Duluth, chose Northern Lights Foundation as the recipient of a $500 donation from National Bank of Commerce. As part of his award, Gustafson was given the opportunity to choose a local charity to bestow NBC's donation.


• Head of the Lakes United Way elected eight board members including Louise Anderson of Carlton-Cook-Lake-St. Louis Community Health Board; Jason Davis of North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters; Tricia Hobbs of Thrivent Financial; Phil Jents of the city of Duluth; Annie Lepper of Minnesota Power Employees Credit Union; Neal Ronquist of Duluth News Tribune; Jen Patterson of Maurices; and Christopher Tremblay of University of Wisconsin-Superior.

• Duluth Cross Country Ski Club announced the winners of various ski awards during its Snow Ball Gala in the Greysolon Ballroom earlier this month. Korkki Nordic Ski Center's assistant chief of trail and Duluthian Mark Helmer received the George Hovland Award. The Charlie Banks Award went to Mary Jane Sorensen of Duluth, organizer for Nordic Spirit Youth Ski League at Spirit Mountain. Mark Nyholm of Carlton, organizer for Banff Mountain Film Festival, earned the DXC Volunteer of the Year award. Proctor High School junior Hannah Bettendorf was given the Patrice Jankowski Award, and Cloquet-Esko-Carlton sophomore skier Aidan Ripp received the Mark Herman Award.

• MDI, a Minnesota-based packaging manufacturer, elected Dr. Michael Raich of Hibbing to its board. Raich is the provost of Hibbing Community College and serves as chair of Fairview Range Medical Center Board of Directors. He is also on the executive board of the Hibbing Community Foundation.

Raich earned his bachelor's degree from University of Minnesota Duluth, his master's degree from St. Cloud State University and his doctoral degree from University of North Dakota.

• Makayla Pearson was named the 2016 Youth of the Year by the Boys & Girls Clubs of the Northland. Pearson, 14, is a Duluth Denfeld high School student and was chosen for her sound character, leadership skills and volunteerism.

• Northern Expressions Arts Collective named three new members to its board: Pastor Josh LaVack of Engage Church in Duluth; Erik McCort of US Bank Home Mortgage; and Deb Eagle of Community Action Duluth.