Sections

Weather Forecast

Close
Advertisement
Wellness screening offers draw complaints
15 min 18 sec ago
Nolan’s record could work for, against him
16 min 37 sec ago
Solar panels grace the roof of the Fond du Lac Resource Management Building. A new photovoltaic project is being planned in cooperation with Minnesota Power to supplement the electricity provided to the Black Bear Casino Resort. (Wendy Johnson / wjohnson@pinejournal.com)
Fond du Lac, Minnesota Power plan ‘solar farm’ partnership
4 hours 20 min ago
Advertisement
Submit an Event View Full Calendar
Photo of the Day for September 21, 2014
4 hours 28 min ago
Kristin Gibbs and Charlie Danielson have turned an old gravel pit filled with pine trees into a permaculture farm on two acres in Normanna Township north of Duluth. They perform “lazy farming,” letting fungi do the work of breaking down organic material and animals to till the soils with contraptions like a portable chicken house. All the while, they let natural plants intertwine for a unique food plot. (Clint Austin / caustin@duluthnews.com)
Rural Duluth farmer implements sustainable methods
13 hours 5 min ago
The Lester-Amity Chalet on Seven Bridges Road had an open house on Saturday. The group Friends of the Lester-Amity Chalet is trying to raise money to revitalize the building.  (Bob King / rking@duluthnews.com)
Boosters see bright future for run-down Lester-Amity Chalet
September 20, 2014 - 6:59pm
Grand Rapids player Alex Illikainen plays for Grand Rapids in 2013. He announced Sunday his commitment to coach Bo Ryan and the Wisconsin Badgers. (File / News Tribune)
Former Grand Rapids basketball standout commits to Wisconsin
2 hours 26 min ago
Advertisement
Goucher sixth at Philadelphia half-marathon
7 hours 26 min ago
A sharp-tailed grouse hunter and his dog move across native prairie in eastern Montana. Sharp-tailed grouse prefer open, short-grass habitat. (Sam Cook / scook@duluthnews.com)
Sam Cook column: Prairie pilgrimage
22 hours 22 min ago
Adrian Peterson carries the ball against St. Louis on Sept. 7. He will not play Sunday (Sept. 21, 2014), and his future with the team is uncertain. (USA Today Sports / News Tribune photo illustration)
Vikings move on without Peterson
12 hours 31 min ago
Minnesota Duluth quarterback Drew Bauer jumps over a Southwest Minnesota State player during Saturday’s game at Malosky Stadium. (Bob King / rking@duluthnews.com)
College football: UMD weathers storm against Mustangs
12 hours 38 min ago
Beverly Godfrey is a News Tribune columnist and copy editor. You can reach her at bgodfrey@duluthnews.com.
Beverly Godfrey: No use for abuse
September 20, 2014 - 7:02pm
Brigette Lacquette has returned to the Minnesota Duluth women’s hockey team full-time. (Matt Wellens / mwellens@duluthnews.com)
Hopes of UMD women's hockey rest on the blueline
September 20, 2014 - 7:00pm
Dirk Meyer is conductor of the Duluth Superior Symphony Orchestra. (Photo from dirkmeyer.net)
Review: DSSO season opener full of surprises, treats
23 hours 20 min ago
(Bill Schorr / Cagle Cartoons)
National view: Peterson mounts illogical defense for alleged beating of son
22 hours 5 min ago
Advertisement
randomness